The Sound of Gravel by Ruth Wariner – review

I read this memoir in two sittings. Held captive by Ruth Wariner’s words, I found that I could not put the book down until I’d read the final page. To say that I enjoyed the book would trivialize its content-but the author’s telling of growing up in a polygamist community had me spellbound.

The Sound of Gravel is a touching story that depicts poverty, isolation, tragedy, and heartache. It’s a story of love, hate, determination and the unbreakable bond that tethers Ruthie to her brothers and sisters – as well as her resolve to keep them all safe.

This was a tumultuous and fascinating read…and one that I will think about for months to come.

A solid 5+ stars


Belinda G. Buchanan, Tragedy at Silver Creek

I had the opportunity to be interviewed by the wonderful Berneta Haynes from the Waking Writer.

Waking Writer

What have you written so far?

I have written four novels to date.  My first one, After All Is Said And Done, was born out of the incessant need to create a story about two couples who worked together that had an affair, resulting in a pregnancy.  So many times, we see the immediate results of infidelity, but not the long-term effects.  I wanted to follow these four individuals for two years in their lives in order to depict the devastating ramifications that adultery can have on a marriage.

The Monster of Silver Creek is my sophomore novel and is a mystery about a troubled police chief trying to stop a serial killer.

I like to write stories that deal with real issues, such as alcoholism, abuse, and mental illness.  Seasons of Darkness was my third novel to be published and follows a lonely young man as he tries…

View original post 861 more words